×
rider profile
dan erik hansen
 

answers by Dan Erik Hansen

Velonode Rider Profiles is a series of editorial interviews with riders where we welcome you to look into the personality of the people behind the bars. We’re including the Velonode Rider Profile Series in our Issue to give you a continuous story to enjoy every time we release a new edition of the Issue. If you’re interested in contributing to our rider profiles, please contact us at hello@velonode.cc

Who are you and where do you come from?
Hello, I’m Dan Erik Hansen or Dan the man if you like. I’m from Norway, best country in the world…!!!

How old are you and how long have you ridden road bikes?
Well let’s see, I get 26 this august, so no longer young and hopeful.

What was your first encounter with cycling?
It must have been when I was a kid riding on my tricycle. I always rode to my grandmother and grandfather where I always got homemade strawberry jam and blackcurrant juice.

What does your passion for the sport come from? Is someone else in your family interested in cycling?
Like most people i think, I watch the Tour de France one summer and after that I got more and more into the sport. Well, actually both of my stepbrothers and stepfather started to ride pretty much the last 2 years.

When did you commit to bike racing?
It is actually not so long ago. During the season of 2012-2013 I really started to focus on cycling with serious training.

What is your motivation to continue the hard work and get better?
It’s my competitive nature that motivates me, to constantly challenge myself and to reach new goals.

From what or who do you get inspiration?
From myself and my training buddies. I am lucky to train in a good environment with a high level on the riders and we are good to motivate and push each other to a higher level.

As a cyclist, what are your strengths and weaknesses?
My strength is clearly time trial, sprinting and willingness to train that little extra. And when it comes to my weaknesses it must be uphills and that I might be a little bit too eager on training and maybe train a bit too much at times hehe.

What are you working hardest on right now? Any specific training?
My focus now is sprinting and time trialing, I do specific training on the time trial bike and also specific training with weights in the gym as well as motor-pacing behind a car to get a better sprint.

What are your goals? How good are you going to become?
My goal is simple, I’ll try to be the best … it’s a long way to go but I’m all in.

What do you enjoy most with cycling?
The best must be recovery rides with coffee break or to cross the finish line first. but when all is said and done, I think it is the totality of the hard work and the feeling that you have achieved something that I like best.

What does your diet look like and how to you eat before a race?
I guess I have no special diet but I do not eat anything during the season. Although I like and am a big fan of Marcel Kittle and Team Giant-Shimano’s Slush ice diet on hot summer days hehe. Before a race I like to eat gluten free oatmeal with lactose free yogurt, raisins, nuts and honey and some espresso to go super fast!

What are your future plans?
Right now I hope to get some good results in the last part of the season, I have picked out some races I want to win while I’m hoping for some good overall results in some other races.

What are the best routes to ride in your hometown?
Well in my hometown it must be a ride into the forest no small roads with no traffic and a nice coffee brake in our neighboring country Sweden.

Do you have any inhumanly fast strava kom’s that none will ever beat?
Haha yeah I hope so, but I can not remember the name of the segment. But I have some good KOM’s with over 1000 Watt in average, I also have one KOM in Mallorca a head of someone from Team Sky so let’s hope that one stands for a while.

What does your winter training look like?
Well, I am so lucky that I live in Spain during the winter so I get too cycle outdoor all year around. but I also train more weights and core strength through the winter time. If people want to follow my training, they can follow me on Instagram and Strava, where I post almost all training.

worth sharing?

Name: Dan Erik Hansen
Lives in: Kongsvinger/Norway
Age: 26
Favourite type of riding: Coffee ride with friends
Bike: Cannondale
instagram: @danerikhansen
Team: Team Fana Elite
Website: www.danerikhansen.com
Twitter: danerikhansen
Sponsors: Multipower, Spy Optic, Unaas Cycling, G-tex AS, Red Bull, Cannondale and great support form my mom, step dad and family.
FunFact: if you eat a 100 gram toblerone you are 100 grams closer to reaching 100km / h in a downhill

Sign in to add a favorite


Perks with being a member:

  • Personalize your feed: make sure to get the content that interests you.

  • Discover and follow our contributors: choose to follow curators that brings the best content to your feed.

  • In the future you will also be able to add content to share with other members on Velonode. We are working as hard as we can to make it possible for you to collect, curate and share your best cycling tips. If you don’t want to wait, apply here to become a contributor.

Join now and start curating your experience!

×